Dechen Dolkar

There could be fewer candidates vying for a seat at the National Council (NC) in the upcoming elections than 2018 going by the record of registered candidates with the Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB).

The ECB has registered 125 aspiring National Council (NC) candidates including nine female candidates from all dzongkhags as of yesterday.

In 2018, there were 177 aspiring candidates including eight female candidates.

The aspiring candidates can register until the Dhamngoi zomdu is held. The aspirants should produce all the required documents during the registration.


Dhamngoi zomdu is a nomination process for a candidate for NC elections. Every gewog and dzongkhag thromde is eligible to nominate one candidate from their gewog and thromde to contest in the elections.

As of now, Sarpang has 15 aspiring candidates, which is the highest among the dzongkhags and Bumathang, Gasa and Haa have the least candidates of two each.

From Bumthang, aspiring candidates are contesting one each from Tang and Thromde.

Chukha has four aspiring candidates, one each from Bango, Loggchina, Phuentsholing and Thromde.

Dagana has five candidates, one each from Gesarling, Tsendagang and Tseza two candidates from Drujegang.

Gasa has two candidates, one each from Khatoed and Laya gewog.

Haa has also two aspiring candidates, each from Samar and Sangbay.

Lhuentse has three candidates, one each from Jarey, Maenbi and Minjey.

Mongar has nine aspiring candidates, two each from Tsamang and Shermung and one each from Chagsakhar, Narang, Ngatshang, Gongdue and Kengkhar.

Paro has seven candidates, one each from Dokar, Loong-nyi, and Wangchang and two each from Lamgong and Sharpa gewogs.

Pemagatshel has four aspiring candidates, one each from Dechhenling and Nanong and two from Shumar.

Punakha has seven candidates, two each from Talog and Toepisa and one each from Chhubu, Dzomi and Shelnga-Bjimaed.

Samdrupjongkhar has 11 aspiring candidates, two each from Gomdar, Matshala and Pemathang and one each from Dewathang, Langchhenphug, Lauri, Serthig and Thromde.

Samtse has also 11 aspiring candidates, two each from Nogaygang and Dophugchen, one each from Pemaling, Duenchhukha, Tashi-Chhoeling and Norboogang and three from the thromde.

Sarpang has 15 candidates, two each from Dekidling, Serzhong and Shompangkha, one each from Gakiling, Chhuzagang, Umling, Singhi, Chhuzom, and Thromde and three candidates from Gelephu.

Thimphu has three candidates, one each from Chang, Genyen and Thromde.

Trashigang has seven candidates, two each from Phongmaed and Radi and one each from Kangpar, Samkhar, and Udzorong.

Trashiyangtse has six candidates, one each from Khamdang, Tongmizgangsa, Yangtse, and Thromde, and two from Jamkhar.

Trongsa has three candidates, one from Langthil, and two from Nubi.

Tsirang has nine candidates, two each from Patshaling and Tsholingkhar and one each from Gosarling, Mendrelgang, Samjong, Sergithang, and Thromde.

Wangdue Phodrang has nine candidates, one each from Bjednag, Gangteng, Kazhi and Saephug, two from Darkarla, and three from Ruebisa.

Zhemgang has six candidates, one each from Bjoka, Goshing, Nangkor, Ngangla, Phangkhar, and Trong.

However, there are only nine aspiring female candidates. Mongar and Sarpang have two each. Punakha, Samtse, Trashigang, Tsirang, and Zhemgang have one each.

Meanwhile, 14 aspiring candidates have withdrawn after the registration. A few did not meet the 10-year work experience requirement, some joined parties, and others are planning to go abroad.