Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won by a landslide in Tsirang yesterday. 

Provisional results show that DNT won with a huge margin in Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) votes as well as Postal Ballots votes in both the constituencies. 

In the Sergithang-Tsirangtoed constituency, DNT’s Garjaman Rai secured 6,077 votes of which 1,806 were postal votes. Druk Phuensum Tshogpa’s Kewal Ram Adhakari secured 2,945 total votes including 909 are postal votes. 

In Kilkhorthang-Mendrelgang constituency, DNT’s Bimal Thapa secured 6,681 votes and DPT’s Yangku Tshering Sherpa managed 2,965 votes. Bimal Thapa secured the maximum postal ballot votes at 1,954, while Yangku Tshering Sherpa secured 1,019. 

Garjaman Rai said the result was not surprising. “I’m exceptionally happy with the result,” he said. Although he was expecting to win, he said, he wasn’t expecting a landslide victory. One of the main reasons for the victory, he said was the party’s manifesto, which is clear and far-sighted. It is also because of the party president Dr Lotay Tshering who people judged as efficient and good. 

Bimal Thapa also said the result was expected. DNT had won by a huge margin in the primaries and based on this, he expected to win the general election. “The result here indicate that people wanted change,” he said. 

He thanked the people for trusting the party and its manifesto and going for change. 

Meanwhile, the poll day was smooth in Tsirang without any issues. Of the 23,696 registered voters, 18,668 turned up to vote. In terms of percentage 78.8 percent voters turned up yesterday, which is 15.5 percent more than the primary election.

Nirmala Pokhrel | Tsirang