Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) maintained its stronghold in Pemagatshel to win all the three constituencies in both postal ballots and Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) votes.

Provisional results show that it was a landslide victory for DPT in all three constituencies.

In Nganglam constituency, DPT’s Choida Jamtsho secured 3,576 votes, 1,893 on the EVM and 1,683 postal votes. Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa’s (DNT) Karma Dorji won 1,976 votes, which include 887 postal votes and 1,089 EVM votes.

DPT’s Tshering Choden in Khar-Yurung constituency bagged 4,738 votes, 1,666 on EVM and 3,072 postal ballots while DNT’s Ugyen Tshewang secured 2,045 votes – 835 EVM votes and 1,210 postal ballots.

In Nanong-Shumar constituency, DPT candidate, Lungten Nagmgyel, secured 4,311 votes, of which 2,333 were postal ballots and 1,978 were EVM votes. His opponent, DNT’s Pema Wangda got 2,132 votes, which include 996 postal ballots and 1,136 EVM votes.

Meanwhile, a voter, Tshewang, 65, from Tshenkari in Nganglam, said although the polling station is not far from his house, he cannot walk as he has a backache. Although he was not well and raining, he went to cast his vote at Gashari Bali polling station.

Sherab, 85, was the first voter to vote at Gashari PS in Norbugang gewog in Nganglam. He said he came to vote because even one vote matters while electing a capable government. “We have road access and drinking water among others but there are many other developments to be brought,” he said.

Kelzang Wangchuk | Nganglam