At the ongoing Bhutan Cricket Council Board (BCCB) T20 cricket tournament at Pelkhil oval in Thimphu, Dragon Strikers, Thimphu Knights, SKD All-Stars, and Takin City have qualified to play super four play-offs that begins today.

Defending champions Dragon Strikers from Pool-A was the first team to qualify for the super four play-off, followed by Thimphu Knights from Pool-C, SKD All-Stars from Pool-D, and Takin City from Pool-B.

Of the four teamS that would play super four play-off in league format, SKD All-Stars is the new team to feature in the league that would see two teams qualify to play the finals. SKD All Stars reached the semi-final round in their debut appearance.

The previous edition’s top batsman, Kencho Norbu, leads the highest run record of 120 runs in his team Dragon Strikers triumph to find a place in super four. His teammate Ikrmul Ali has the highest sixes of six. The team has two foreign players in their squad.

Takin City, another super four team has Nausheed from India as their highest run-maker. The player recorded 104 runs in three games and Tandin Wangchuk with highest of eight sixes in three games.

Takin City ended as runners-up in the last edition.

With the total of 103 runs in three games, Bikash S Luitel records highest runs for his team, Thimphu Knight. The team was one of the semi-finalists in the previous edition. His teammate Rekash Pradhan has five sixes as the highest with the team.

The debutant in the semi-final, SKD All-Stars, is led by the national skipper Jigme Singye and has the highest run of 122 in three games. The skipper is backed by Tobden Singye, who has the highest of seven sixes for the team.

The highest run of 122 runs by Jigme Singye from SKD All-Star is the highest run so far in the tournament. Tandin Wangchuk from Takin City holds the record of highest eight sixes to date.

With about 90 percent increase in the number of teams participating in this edition, the championship recorded the highest turn over from across the country. The tournament this year plays 15 teams. The past editions had about eight teams taking part.

BCCB coach Dumber S Gurung said the national team’s win at Asian Cricket Council T20 Eastern Region Cup in February this year has encouraged participation in the tournament.

“We have witnessed a lot of dedication and commitment from all the teams and players. The standard of the game compared to previous tournaments has improved. The tournament creates a platform for the Bhutanese to take part and take their game further,” Dumber S Gurung said.

The championship that began on April 29 featured teams from Thimphu, Sarpang, Chhukha, Paro, and Wangdue.

The final will be played on June 17.

The champions will bag home Nu 200,000 and the runners-up will take home Nu 100,000. The award ceremony will give away prizes for best performer, player of the tournament, best batsman, best bowler, the best wicket keeper, emerging keeper, and highest sixes of the tournament.

The tournament is organised in collaboration with Bhutan Olympic Committee, Samsung Galaxy, Tashi Cell, and Bhutan Smart Lottery.