Cricket: BCCB T20 Cup 2015 is underway at the Pelkhil Oval in Pelkhil School, Thimphu.

Organised by the Bhutan Cricket Council Board (BCCB), the Twenty-20 (T20) format is a much shorter form of cricket compared to other existing forms of the game. It is similar to ‘limited overs cricket’ in which two teams play for a single innings, the key difference being that each team bats for a maximum of 20 overs.

A total of seven teams including one from Wangduephodrang are taking part in this year’s tournament. Every team will play against each other in the group round whereby the top four teams will then qualify for the semi finals. A total of 24 matches will be played in the tournament.

Previously played at the Jigmethang ground in Dechencholing, the tournament this year has shifted to the new pitch at Pelkhil School. BCCB’s coaching head, Damber S Gurung said that the board have a five-year Memorandum of Understanding with the school whereby the board will take charge of the development of the school ground.

“The location at Dechencholing was quite far from the town which caused a few problems while organising tournaments but now with the new pitch in place, it is more convenient for the players and also for the organising committee,” he said.

The month long tournament that began on November 14 is an annual event to promote and improve the standard of cricket in the country.

All the matches are scheduled on weekends for the convenience of the players. So far, four games have been played and the tournament is expected to finish by mid-December.

The winners of the tournament will be awarded a cash prize of Nu 200,000.

The first T20 tournament was organised in 2008.

Younten Tshedup