… two of them are former NC members

Dechen Dolkar

Bhutan Tendrel Party (BTP) declared three candidates from Haa, Lhuentse, and Trongsa for the fourth parliamentary elections.

The party declared Tshering Dorji from Bji-Kartshog-Uesu constituency, Haa. The 48-year-old has a bachelor’s degree in science from Sherubtse College and a Master of Science from the School of Environment Management and Biological Conservation, University of New England, Australia.  He also has a Bachelor’s Degree in Buddhist Philosophy from the Institute of Science of Mind, Central Monastic Body.

He has served as a Member of Parliament in the National Council for 10 years and also served as deputy chairperson during his second term.

Before his election to Parliament, he worked as a lecturer for seven years in Sherubtse College, Royal University of Bhutan.

Prior to joining BTP, he worked as a consultant and worked with people of diverse backgrounds both in government and private organizations. 

After completing the task entrusted to him, he decided to re-enter politics. 

Tempa Dorji, 55, will represent BTP from the Menbi-Tsenkhar constituency, Lhuentse. He has a Master’s degree in Electrical Power Engineering from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway.

He began his career in Bhutan Power Corporation and served in the customer service and rural electrification departments. He served in various capacities for over 21 years in both civil service and corporations.

Tempa Dorji served as a National Council member from Lhuentse for two terms since 2013. 

The party also declared Tashi Dorji from Nubi-Tangsbji constituency in Trongsa.  The 41-year-old has a Master’s in Business Administration from the University of Canberra, Australia. He has served as gewog administrative officer for more than 15 years.

He is a father of three and last served as the gewog administrative officer in his home gewog, Nubi in Trongsa for five years. He also served as a case manager for domestic violence in the gewogs.  

The party has declared 37 candidates to contest for fourth parliamentary elections later this year.