Chief Election Commissioner Chogyal Dago Rigdzin declares the official results of the general election yesterday at Democracy House, Thimphu

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa won 54 percent of the total votes

The Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB) officially declared Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT), which won 30 constituencies as the third elected government yesterday. The Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT), which won in 17 constituencies, was declared the opposition party.
The Prime Minister elect Lotay Tshering

“There is no winner or loser” 

Winning 53.95 percent of the votes cast in the general elections…
DPT president Pema Gyamtsho

We will form an even stronger Opposition: DPT

The Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) will form an even stronger Opposition…
Voters queue in Tang central school polling station

It’s cranes in Bumthang

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) swept both the constituencies in…
Voters arrive early to cast their votes at Punakha hospital polling station

Peach blossoms in Punakha

Punakha opted for a change. The people of the two constituencies…
Of the 23,696 registered voters, 18,668 voted yesterday

A landslide victory for DNT in Tsirang

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won by a landslide in Tsirang yesterday.  Provisional…

Wangdue goes for Change

As the election officials began counting the postal ballots for…
Voters queue in Yangthang BHU, one of the 22 polling stations in Haa

DNT wins Haa too

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won both the constituencies in Haa…
Voter turnout at Samdrupjongkhar stands at about 71 percent

DPT takes Samdrupjongkhar

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) won both the constituencies in Samdrupjongkhar. Like…
Voters queue at Yangphelthang LSS polling station in Phuentshogpelri_Samtse constituency yesterday

Samtse goes for change again

Samtse, just like other southern dzongkhags voted for Druk Nyamrup…
Voters at Yadi CS polling station

DPT loses a constituency in Mongar

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) won two of the three constituencies…

Postal votes swing Trongsa in DNT’s favour

The people of Trongsa went for change to vote in Druk Nyamrup…

DNT wins two of the five constituencies in Trashigang

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won two of the five constituencies…