A total of 137 male and 95 female polling officers and 270 security personnel have been deployed to 46 polling stations in Dagana to conduct the National Council poll day today. 

The election office in Dagana provided 92 electronic voter machines (EVM) to 46 polling stations.

Dzongkhag electoral officer, Rigzen Lhundrup, said that all polling officers have reached their respective polling stations. A majority of polling officers are teachers.“We ensured that the schools are not closed by deploying 20 percent of teachers from a school on election duty.”

He also said that they have deployed about eight to 12 teachers from higher secondary schools and about three from primary schools. “We had to adopt this strategy to ensure regular classes are not hampered.”

Rigzen Lhundrup also said all polling officers signed an undertaking stating that they don’t have  conflict of interest before going to the polling stations.

Dagana has 14 gewogs and 24,200 eligible voters (12,128 male and 12,072 female).

Dagana has 10 National Council candidates from Dorona, Larjyab, Tseza, Gesarling, Drujaygang, Lhamoizingkha, Karmaling, Karna, Tsendagang,  and Khebisa.

The postal ballot’s envelope A was opened yesterday. According to the press release from the Election Commission of Bhutan, 625 female and 642 male acquired the conventional postal ballot facility.  

Yeshey Dema | Dagana