With the declaration of results for nomination zomdu of the last three gewogs on March 10, Dagana now has 10 candidates vying for a seat in the National Council (NC).

The dzongkhag had the highest number of aspirants, with 22 declaring their interest to contest in the upcoming NC elections. The number dropped to 16 after six withdrew their candidature. One aspirant was disqualified for failing to produce his voter photo identity card (VPIC).

Of the 16, six candidates could not get through the gewog nomination process.

Dagana’s lone female candidate, Chador Wangmo, is out of the race. She secured 384 votes against her opponent, Dawa Rigyel, who secured 608 votes.

Chador Wangmo and Dawa Rigyel contested for the nomination from Kana gewog, which saw the highest voter turnout.

In Tshendagang gewog, Birendra Chimoria, 36, won the nomination process after securing 505 yes votes and 74 no votes. He is a former teacher.

In Khebisa, Sangay Thinley, 40, was nominated as the gewog candidate after securing 256 yes votes and 55 no votes. He was a procurement officer in Thimphu.

In Tseza, Tenzin Samdrup, 39, secured 294 yes votes and 25 no votes. He also worked as a teacher before resigning to contest in the NC elections.

Karmaling gewog has nominated Birkha Bahadur Subba, 30, as their candidate.

After securing 220 yes votes and 29 no votes, the former Bhutan Broadcasting Service reporter, Surjaman Thapa made through the Gesarling gewog nomination for the NC elections.

In Lhamoizingkha, a former Kuensel employee, Suraj Pradhan, 38, won at the gewog level after securing 308 votes against his four opponents.

Drujeygang gewog nominated Kinzang Gyelsthen, 28, as their candidate after securing 351 yes votes and 120 no votes.

In Dorona gewog, 32-year-old Wangdi from Lalidhapper was nominated after securing 137 votes against his opponent Suk Man Mongar’s 128 votes.

In Larjyab gewog, the lone candidate, San Man Gurung, 28 was nominated after securing 152 yes votes and 23 no votes.

Tsangkha, Gozhi, Tashiding, Nichula and Daga throm did not have any candidates.

The dzongkhag electoral officer, Rigzen Lhendrup, said that six candidates withdrew their candidature before the gewog nomination zomdu for various reasons.

The dzongkhag dispute settlement committee has not received any compliant regarding the gewog nomination zomdu so far.

Yeshey Dema | Dagana