Dagana has at least 21 candidates aspiring to contest in the upcoming National Council election.

Lhamoidzingkha has the highest (five) number of aspirants.

Suraj Pradhan, former finance manager of Kuensel Corporation, is one of them. He will contest against Krishna Bahadur Tamang, a businessman, Prakash Sharma, who is currently unemployed, Dawa Norbu, a businessman, and Sanjay Lopchen Tamang, a farmer with BBA degree.

Tseza gewog has three candidates. One of the aspirants is Samten Jamtsho, a retired teacher. He will contest against a civil servant, and Dorji Tshering, a graduate.

Dorona, Largyab, Goshi and Karna gewog each has  two candidates. While Suk Man Mongar, who runs a private business, and Wangdi, who is a teacher at Debsi Higher Secondary School will contest from Dorona, San Man Gurung, a temporary employee at IT Park and Migmar Dorji, an electronic engineer with Wamling Medical Supply will contest from Largyab gewog.

The two candidates contesting from Goshi are Kamal Chhetri, a retired soldier, and Sonam Phuntsho.

The lone female candidate in Dagana will contest from Karna gewog. She is currently the marketing head of Yoezer Events. She will contest against Dawa Rigyel.

Karmaling,  Drukjeygang, Geserling, Khebisa, and Tsendagang gewogs each has one candidate. Birkha Bahadur, managing director of a travel agent, will contest from Karmaling. Dawa, who works as an IT manager at Natural Resource Development Corporation Ltd, will contest from Drukjeygang.

Sangay Thinley will contest from Khebisa and the former reporter of Bhutan Broadcasting Service, Surja Man Thapa, will contest from Geserling. Birendra Chimoria will contest from Tsendagang.

Nirmala Pokhrel | Tsirang