Dhan Kumar Sunwar, 31, is the National Council elect from Tsirang going by the provisional results. He secured 2,770 votes, of which 2,320 were secured through Electronic Voting Machine (EVM).  

He secured the second highest votes through postal ballots after Kencho Wangmo who secured 519 postal votes. The provisional results were declared at 8pm. However, none of the candidates were present at the RO office when results were declared. 

Nim Karma Sherpa of Rangthaling gewog secured second highest votes after Dhan Kumar by securing 1,318 votes. Of that 432 votes were cast through postal ballot. 

Dhan Kumar said that although he had little hope to win, winning with a majority was unexpected. “I’m happy and I thank my voters who had placed their faith in me,” he said. “It could be my simplicity that counted.”

The lone female candidate Kencho Wangmo came third with 1,110 votes followed by Lok Nath Tiwari who secured 1,099 votes, of which 845 were cast through EVM.  

Among the 12 candidates, Nado Rinchen of Barshong gewog obtained 1,089 total votes, Ramesh Chhetri Bhandari got 1,040 votes, Tashi Norbu 917 votes, Tara Bir Chowan 844 votes and Sangay Tamang 743. 

The other three candidates Hom Nath Thapa, Migma Dorji Lama and Sonam Tobgay secured 702, 658 and 569 votes respectively. 

Tsirang received a total of 994 conventional postal ballots and 1,246 facilitation booth ballots. At least 125 of them were rejected.  Of the total 23,379 registered voters in Tsirang, 12,859 turned up to cast vote. 

Nirmala Pokhrel | Tsirang