Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) appealed to all Bhutanese, irrespective of which party they supported or voted for in the third parliamentary elections, to discontinue engaging in divisive practices and come together.

A WeChat recording of a DNT supporter surfaced on social media the day after the poll day. The woman appears to take a jab at Druk Phuensum Tshogpa supporters.

The party apologised on her behalf and stated that it would work towards ensuring such things did not transpire hereafter.

“DNT’s failure will be that of all Bhutanese too. Therefore, we wish to solicit unconditional support of all to ensure that we collectively pursue our shared aspirations, so at the end of the day, we stand to reap the benefits together,” a press release from the party it posted on its facebook page stated. “DNT government will not tolerate attempts on the part of a few individuals to create tensions among people and division along political lines.”

The party will decide formally on Cabinet nominees this week. There are six more days for the petition period of the election to end. DNT’s general secretary, Phurba, said that the party had not yet discussed on the ministerial candidates. “This can only take place after the prime minister nominee receives dakyen from His Majesty The King as provided in the Constitution.”

Article 17 of the Constitution on formation of government states: “The Druk Gyalpo shall confer Dakyen to the leader or nominee of the party, which wins the majority of seats in the National Assembly, as the Prime Minister.”

The Druk Gyalpo can appoint ministers from among the members of the National Assembly on the recommendation of the prime minister, or shall remove a minister on the advice of the prime minister.”

DNT’s core team or the executive committee consists of its president, the party’s general secretary and the party’s three founders – Tandi Dorji, Tenzin Lekphell, and Karma Dorji.


Tshering Palden