The people of Chukha chose Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) over Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT).

DNT’s Tshewang lhamo of Bongo-Chapcha Constituency won by 3,153 more than Druk Phuensum DPT’s Pemba. Tshewang lhamo secured 4,493 EVM votes and 2,139 postal votes.

Of the 2,282 facilitation ballots, seven were rejected.

A sixty-five-year old man from Bjabcho gewog said: “I went to vote early so that I can witness the Tshechu. I am happy that I cast my vote to the one I like, now I can watch the Tshechu and get blessing peacefully.”

In Phuentsholing Constituency, DPT’s Tashi lost to DNT’s Jai Bir Rai who got 5,586 ballot counts.

Four facilitation votes were rejected in Phuentsholing.

Pema, 75, from Chanachen said, whichever comes to power they will serve the people. So, four members of my family divided the votes equally between the two parties.

In the primary, DNT won in Phuentsholing and came second in Bongo-Chapcha constituency.

Nim Dorji | Chukha