In Dagana, it was EVM votes that made all the different between the two political parties. The difference gave Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) a landslide victory in the dzongkhag.

DNT’s Hemant Gurung secured 6,257 votes, 3,669 votes more than DPT’s Prem Kumar Khatiwara.

Hemant Gurung secured 2,553 more EVM votes than his opponent.

Prem Kumar Khatiwara said that several factors affected DPT’s performance in the general election.

In Drukjyegang-Tseza constituency too DNT won with huge margin. Jurmi Wangchuk was elected after securing 3,148 votes more than his opponent Migma Dorji. Here as well EVM votes played crucial role creating a difference of 2,001 votes in favor of the MP-elect.

Migma Dorji said that he was positive until a week before the poll. People’s perspective began changing in the last week, he added.

He said the people of Dagana did not understand the manifesto and pledges of DPT, which focused more on strengthening economy. “We had far-sighted pledges but people wanted immediate benefits,” he said.

He also said that although he lost, he was happy people got their choice and thanked people for supporting DPT.

“I was surprised by the result, of course” he said.

Nirmala Pokhrel | Tsirang