Thinley Namgay 

Team Drukpol defeated We Spikers volleyball club 3-2 in the finals of Coca-Cola We Care Thimphu Volleyball League at Changlimithang volleyball arena on December 8.

In a closely contested game, the soldiers secured the first set, 25-20. We Spikers managed to hold on to the second and third sets.

Drukpol took the fourth set taking the match into the fifth and deciding set. The soldiers once again rose to the occasion defeating We Spikers 15-10.

On December 8, the third position between Druk Events volleyball club and Old Friends was also settled through a five-set decider. Old Friends won the decider 15-9.

The top three clubs will play in the National volleyball league, which will be held in February next year.

A total of 31 matches were played during the two-month tournament organised by Bhutan Volleyball Federation (BVBF).

BVBF’s programme officer, Sangay Tempa, said that the league is organised to develop elite volleyball players in the country and to introduce professional leagues and competitions.

He said that a cash prize of Nu 8,000 was awarded to all match winners who won the game in three straight sets during the league round. “This was done to make the game more competitive and encourage the players,” he said.

For those teams that won the game 3-1, were awarded Nu 6,000. The losing teams were also given Nu 2,000 each.

Trophy and other individual awards were given during the final day.

Kiran Sharma of Drukpol was declared the most valuable player of the tournament while the best spiker award went to Old Friend’s Thinley Dorji.

The best setter was We Spiker’s Yeshi Gyeltshen and the best blocker was Nima Yonten from Drukpol. The Best libero award went to We Spiker’s Pema Karpo.

Drukpol’s coordinator, Karma Wangdi, said that his team won six of the 10 games played in the tournament. “We already knew we were one of the finalists. We won the tournament because of the continued effort from our players.”

Karma Wangdi said that given the good number of experienced players on the team, they expect to continue their winning streak into the national league.

The league was played in round robin format, where all the six teams competed in a home and away match.

The tournament was organised with support from Woezer Events.