Nima Wangdi

The government constituted the 5th  Pay Commission to work on the pay revision of civil servants on October 19 in line with Article 30 of the Constitution. 

According to the executive order, the commission will review and propose to the government a fiscally sustainable and transparent remuneration system that must drive performance in the public service, in line with the ongoing reforms.

Upon the Royal Consent, the executive order stated that the commission will be led by the former Druk Holding and Investments Chairperson, Dasho Ugen Chewang, and its members will be Cabinet Secretary Kesang Deki, International Expert Yeo Whee Jim, Chief Finance Transformation Officer and International Consultant Raymond Wan, and finance specialist Leki Wangmo.  

The commission will ensure the financial implications of the proposed remuneration system on the current fiscal state of the nation. It will also ensure close scrutiny of all financial incentives and allowances that exist in the current remuneration system. 

The Commission will be staffed by a secretariat from the finance ministry comprising the Department of Macro-Fiscal and Development Finance, the Department of Planning, Budget and Performance, and the ministry’s legal division. 

The commission will remain for one month from the date of appointment and dissolve immediately after submitting its report to the government. “However, the tenure may be extended if required.”

The commission will submit the Pay Commission Report to the Lhengye Zhungtshog.