However, the party is yet to announce their candidature officially 

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) revealed four former secretaries, who the party called potential candidates, at the opening of its regional office in Trashigang on November 1.

The party confirmed that former labour secretary Pema Wangda, former health secretary Dr Dorji Wangchuk, former Dzongkha Development Commission (DDC) secretary Dasho Sherub Gyaltshen and former National Environment Commission secretary Ugyen Tshewang (PhD) have joined DNT as members.

Pema Wangda

Pema Wangda


Ugyen Tshewang


Dr Dorji Wangchuk


Dasho Sherub Gyaltshen

The four were among some 350 attendees at the opening of the regional party office.

However, the party’s general secretary, Tenzin Lekphel, said that the party was not ready to officially announce their candidature at the moment due to strategic reasons. He added that the party also needed time to assess the voters’ choice.

“All are potential candidates until we officially announce them,” he said.

Most of its candidates, including the four, are in their constituencies to familiarise with the constituents. He said that the party would also consider the choice of the voters to select and confirm its candidates.

If the party officially endorses their candidature, Pema Wangda will contest from Pemagatshel’s Nanong-Shumar constituency and Dr Dorji Wangchuk from Wamrong, Trashigang. Dasho Sherub is from Mongar constituency in Mongar while Ugyen Tshewang (PdD) from Khar-Yurung in Pemagatshel.

“DNT will finalise and declare its candidates after the people in the constituency agree and accept them as candidates,” the secretary general said.

Dasho Sherub Gyaltshen was appointed as DDC secretary in 2009 and superannuated in December 2014 after 37 years of service. Before his appointment as the secretary of DDC, he served as dzongdag for 15 years in Lhuentse, Samtse and Thimphu and as a justice of the High Court.

He said that he would consult the people of his constituency to finalise his candidature. “I have received positive feedback from the people,” he said.

Speaker Jigme Zangpo is from the same constituency but he will not contest the election due to the age limit.

Dr Dorji Wangchuk served as health secretary from November 2014 to May 2016 after 31 years in the civil service. He also worked as a doctor in Trashigang and Samdrupjongkhar and then as the Medical Superintendent at the Jigme Dorji Wangchuck National Referral Hospital.

He said he was in the constituency asking them to support his candidature. “I joined politics to serve the people as a people’s servant,” he said.

Karma Tenzin is the current MP from Wamrong, Trashigang constituency.

Ugyen Tshewang (PhD) said that he was in his constituency to familarise with the people.  He also served as dzongdag in Trashiyangtse.

DPT’s Zanglay Dukpa is the current MP from Khar-Yurung constituency.

Pema Wangda superannuated from the civil service in June 2016 after serving as labour secretary for five years from 2011. During his 34 years of service in the government, he also worked as the director general in the labour ministry.

DPT’s Dechen Zangmo is representing Nanong-Shumar constituency. The former labour secretary said he did not want to comment on his political venture at the moment.

MB Subba 


Skip to toolbar