Dechen Dolkar 

The fourth National Council (NC) will hold its first sitting today and elect its chairperson and deputy chairperson.

The NC secretariat  received four nominations each for the post of chairperson and deputy chairperson.

Sangay Dorji, MP from Chukha, Ugyen Tshering, MP from Paro, Sonam Tobgyel, MP from Trashigang, and Tshering Wangchen, MP from Mongar have been nominated for the post of chairperson.

Meanwhile, Dago Tsheringla, MP of Haa, Namgay Dorji, MP of Punakha, Sonam Tenzin, MP of Trashiyangtse, and Kelzang Lhundup, MP of Lhuentse, are nominated for the post of deputy chair.

The last date for nomination was yesterday before 12 noon.

According to the rules of procedure of National Council of Bhutan 2016, at any time before noon on the day preceding the date of elections, any member may submit a nomination of another member for the post of chairperson to the secretary general.

The rules of procedure also state that a nominated member will not nominate or second members who nominated or seconded him/her for the same position. It states that a member shall not be nominated for the post of both the chairperson and deputy chairperson, simultaneously.

According to the rules of procedure, on the day of nomination, all the nominees will be allowed to address the NC for a period not more than 10 minutes outlining their goals and strategies for the Council if elected as chairperson. The elections for the chairperson and deputy chairperson will be held today.

The NC secretariat held a briefing session for the incoming members yesterday. Two incumbent members were re-elected out of 10 re-contested.

The third NC members ended their term with a simple prayer ceremony in the corridor of the Session Hall, yesterday.

Members led by the chairperson offered butter lamps to the Kupar of His Majesty the King and paid tribute with the recitation of Zhabten and Tashi Monlam.