Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa’s (DNT) Tenzin from Khatoed Laya and Yeshey Dem from Khamed Lunana constituencies won from Gasa yesterday.

Securing an equal number of postal ballot votes, 89 each, Tenzin and Yeshey Dem led the poll by 66 and 41 votes respectively.

Tenzin from Laya was sure to win was even nicknamed ‘Dasho sure’ even before the poll day.

Of the total 1,023 votes, Tenzin won 588 votes – 89 postal ballots and 499 EVM votes according to the provisional results from dzongkhag election office.

The experienced candidate is known for his confidence and community social service in Laya.

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa has never won from both Khatoed-Laya.

Passang, 48, from Khamed-Lunana said that the past governments fulfilled most of their pledges. “I hope that the incoming government and candidates would also deliver what was promised to us. The pledges from both the candidates were necessary,” he said.

He said that he voted for the candidate that would understand the welfare of the people and the nation.

Khamed-Lunana now has a women representative, Yeshey Dem.

Yeshey Dem secured 17 more EVM and 41 more postal votes than her contender according to the provisional result announced yesterday.

The poll day in Khamed-Lunana also elected the youngest female candidate from Gasa. Yeshey Dem will enter the Parliament with her experience of working as a public relations assistant.

Of the total 1,041 registered voters, 780 cast their votes across seven polling stations in Khamed-Lunana constituency.

Close to 1,700 voters out of 2,064 registered voters turned up to cast their votes in Gasa yesterday.

Nima | Gasa