Gasa, the largest and least populated dzongkhag, has three candidates for the NC seat.

Khatoed gewog had the highest number of aspiring candidates although the gewog has only 318 registered voters.

Gasa’s Sangay Khandu, the incumbent, lost to Dr Phurb Dorji. He secured about 27 percent of the 237 votes. The third aspirant from the gewog, Tenzin Namgay secured 18 percent of the total vote.

Dr Phurb Dorji won with 127 votes.

Khatoed gewog also saw the highest voter turnout among the four gewogs. More than 70 percent of the total voters came to vote on March 5.

Khamed gewog’s nominee is Kinley Dorji, former Khamed-Lunana candidate of Druk Phuensum Tshogpa. He got 163 ‘yes’ votes.

Laya nominated Dorji Khandu as the gewog’s NC candidates with 295 ‘yes’ votes.

Of the four gewogs in Gasa, Laya has the highest registered voters – 600 – followed by Lunana with about 500 voters and Khamed with 497.

Lunana gewog had no NC candidate.

The nomination meeting for the dzongkhag ended on March 12.

Gasa’s public debate is slated for April 8.