… Former home minister resigned in May this year

Yangchen C Rinzin

While many speculate the newly elected MP of Nganglam constituency to be the next home minister, members of Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa have nominated six individuals to Prime Minister Dr Lotay Tshering.

Lyonchhen during the meet the press session  yesterday said that the government has still not decided on the final names.

Lyonchhen had earlier said that the government would let people know about the decision after the second round of mass vaccination is rolled out.

Names of nine MPs were nominated but later three MPs withdrew voluntarily, according to Lyonchhen.

The former Home Minister Dasho Sherub Gyeltshen resigned before the Supreme Court’s judgment, which upheld the judgment of the High Court convicting him for claiming false vehicle insurance worth Nu 226,546. He resigned on May 6 this year.

Foreign Minister Dr Tandi Dorji is in charge of the home and cultural affairs ministry.

Refuting the speculations that there were differences among MPs, members and the Cabinet members on home minister candidature, Lyonchhen said that owing to various commitments, the members could not meet to discuss the issue.

“Even without the minister, the foreign minister has carried his responsibility well,” Lyonchhen said. “But there are no differences that have hindered our decision; neither the party members have pressured me in any way.”

Lyonchhen said that he had asked for suggestions from all the members and whether they would want to nominate any individuals. “Members have expressed that they do not have any problem and they would leave it up to me to decide. So, it’s now my responsibility and I’m yet to decide if we should select from the six of them or not.”

Lyonchhen added that he would inform members once he decides on the candidate.