Haa has four National Council (NC) candidates, one each from Bji, Sangbay, Throm, and Samar.

Gewog nominations meeting (Dhamngoi zomdu) in Haa began on March 2 and ended on March 8.

Ngawang Tobgay from Samar, a social worker, secured a total of about 182 ‘yes’ votes and 47 ‘no’ votes on March 8.

Tobgay from Haa throm, a former teacher and a businessman, secured a total of 118 ‘yes’ votes against 15 ‘no’ votes.

Ugyen Namgay from Sangbay, a former analyst with the office of performance management, secured a total of 220 ‘yes’ votes and 23 ‘no’ votes.

Only Bji gewog had two nominees – Dawa Tshering, a former Sangbay administrator, and Tshering Dorji, the current council representative. Tshering Dorji won the nomination with 526 votes against Dawa Tshering’s 223.

Katsho, Gakidling, and Eusu gewogs had no nominees.

According to election officials, Bji gewog has the highest voter base with close to 1,500 registered voters. Katsho has the lowest with 909 voters. Haa throm has just about 480 registered voters.

Rinchen Zangmo | Haa