Chhimi Dema

The incumbent National Council (NC) member of Haa, Ugyen Namgay is up against Dago Tsheringla, a former school principal with 18 years of teaching experience in the upcoming NC election on April 20.

Both the candidates were selected through “Yes” or “No” vote from their respective gewogs.

Samar NC candidate, Dago Tsheringla, secured 244 “Yes” votes, and 17 “No” votes during the dhamngoi zomdu (nomination meeting).

He served as the principal of Jampel Higher Secondary School and Drujeygang HSS and served for 18 years in the education sector. He has a Master’s degree in Educational Leadership and Management from India.

During the dhamngoi zomdu Sangbay NC candidate, also the incumbent MP, Ugyen Namgay, secured 104 “Yes” votes, and 6 “No” votes. He resigned as a senior analyst from the Office of His Majesty’s Secretariat in 2018 to contest in the NC elections.

He has a Master in Public Policy with a specialisation in development policy from the Australian National University, and an international diploma in education planning and administration from the National University of Education Planning and Administration, New Delhi.

Dhamngoi zomdu which started on March 1 in Haa concluded yesterday.

A total of 787 voters attended the dhamngoi zomdu in six gewogs and Haa thromde. This is only 9.33 percent of votes out of the total eligible voters. Bji, Kartsho, Uesu, Samar, Gakidling, Sangbay, and Haa thromde have 8,439 eligible voters.

A voter, Kipchu, 55, from Uesu said that he hopes for a Member of Parliament who would put people’s interests first. “I am looking forward to choosing a candidate who would keep us informed about changes happening around us.”

While enacting laws is important, informing people about the change in laws and regulations is necessary, Kipchu said.

He added that they need a candidate with vast experience. “Someone like that would have sound knowledge and understanding of legislation which would help to present our aspirations clearly during the parliament sessions.”

In 2018, there were five candidates from the dzongkhag for NC election.