Team Takin City faces an uphill battle against the newcomers, Dragon Strikers in the final of annual India-Bhutan Foundation T20 Cup at the Pelkhil Oval, Thimphu today.

Takin City has lost to Dragon Strikers in the league of the tournament and finished second.

Takin City, however, knocked out the defending champions, BTCL by six wickets to book a spot in the final. Dragon Strikers defeated Thimphu Knights by 42 runs in the penultimate match to complete the league round undefeated.

Bhutan Cricket Council Board (BCCB) Head coach Damber Gurung said that the quality of play in the tournament has improved over the past two years.

“We see more maturity and playing standard has improved,” he said.

He said that the aim of the board is to improve cricket and going by the improvements that it has achieved its goals.

“We’ve to bring in more competitions and more league matches to standardize the level of cricket,” he said.

However, BCCB is faced with challenges of not having a proper turf. At present, the tournament is held on a synthetic mating.

Dragon Strikers captain Kumar Subba said the team would take the final seriously. “We won the league round match against Takin City but we will not take the team easily. We will give everything to win the championship. We look forward to the final.”

Reaching in the final in their debut, Kumar Subba said that it feels good to be in the final. “This was possible because we have a good owner who encourages youth into the sport,” he said.

Dragon Strikers has three Indian players, four national players, and three U-19 national players.

Aimed at improving the standard and quality of cricket in the country, the tournament is organised by BCCB in collaboration with Bhutan Olympic Committee, India-Bhutan Foundation, and Bhutan Tourism Corporation Limited.

BCCB also started Women’s Club Championship this year to empower and give equal opportunities to the women. The board is looking forward to starting similar tournaments for junior cricketers.

The winner of the tournament will take home Nu 200,000 with a trophy and the runners-up Nu 100,000 to with the trophy.

Cash prizes and trophies will be awarded for the player of the tournament, maximum sixes, the finest wicketkeeper, highest wicket-taker, top scorer and catch of the tournament.

A total of six teams participated in the tournament that started on October 7. The final will begin from 9:30AM at Pelkhil Oval today.