Nima Wangdi  

The 40-bedded Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Military Hospital (JDMH) in Dewathang, Samdrupjongkhar was inaugurated yesterday on the seventh birth anniversary of His Royal Highness Gyalsey Jigme Namgyel Wangchuck.

Finance Minister Namgay Tshering inaugurated the hospital which was handed over to the Royal Bhutan Army (RBA).

People of Dewathang and nearby places can now avail themselves of high-quality healthcare services, health officials said. This takes the ministry a step closer to ensuring that all the people in the country have access to the medical care they need.

The hospital is one of the seven cluster hospitals that the government has initiated as of now. It has specialized services like gynaecology, surgery, endoscopy, paediatrics, internal medicine, and anesthesiology in addition to the existing services according to the press release from the ministry of health. “The ministry will soon install CT scan and dialysis services in the hospital.”

Other cluster hospitals are in Bumthang, Damphu, Wangdue, Phuentsholing, Samtse, and Trashigang.

The Third Druk Gyalpo, Jigme Dorji Wangchuck inaugurated Dewathang Military Hospital in 1965 and this year marks 58 years of its establishment. “It is a tribute to the rule of visionary Third Druk Gyalpo, the father of modern Bhutan and the hospital has been renamed as Dewathang Military Hospital.”

The hospital construction started in 2016 with the funding support of Nu. 511 million from the Government of India (GoI).

Lyonpo Namgay Tshering, during the inauguration, said the addition of this new hospital is a significant step forward in strengthening the Bhutanese healthcare system.

Sowai Lyonpo Dechen Wangmo said the Government of India’s contribution to the healthcare sector in Bhutan has been invaluable, and the people of Bhutan are genuinely grateful for their continued partnership and support.

So far, the health ministry has initiated seven of the so-called “cluster” hospitals. They are the hospitals in Bumthang, Damphu, Wangdue Phodrang, Phuentsholing, Dewathang, Samtse, and Trashigang. 


Skip to toolbar