Kuenjung FC beat Vink FC (6:2) to lift the Gyalsey Futsal league trophy in the final at the Youth Development Fund (YDF), Thimphu yesterday.

The defending champions Kuenjung FC netted the opener in five minutes. Seven minutes into the game, when debutant Vink FC was still adapting to the pressure, the highest goal scorer of the tournament, Purna Kumar Pradhan added the second goal. He slotted his second and the team’s third goal in the dying moments of the first half.

The much-experienced Kuenjung FC came back stronger in the second half. Purna, with his speed and skill, scored his hat-trick in the 17th minute. His teammate Kinley Jamtsho also found the back of the net taking the score to 5:0.

The tables turned on the defending champions when Vink FC scored its first goal in the 28th minute threatening the experienced squad with crosses and launching powerful long-range shots. In the dying moments of the game, Vink FC scored another consolation.

Kuenjung FC consolidated on their defense and scored another goal when the final whistle was blown.

Kuenjung FC bagged a cash prize of Nu 30,000 and Vink FC took home Nu 20,000.

The league’s best goalie Tshering Dorji was awarded with a pair of goalkeeper gloves. The highest scorer Purna Kumar Pradhan of Kuenjung won a round trip air ticket to Bodh Gaya, India.

Kuenjung FC captain, Jamayang Gyeltshen said that it is a dream come true for the team to win their 19th trophy. “We were confident that we would win because we are fit and we have played together all the time,” he said.

Kuenjung FC defeated Legends FC (3:2) in the semi final while Vink FC thrashed Druk Clearing (7:0).

Captain of Vink FC Til Bdr Mukhia said, that they were not confident of a win in the final as they were playing in the final for the first time.

“We’re happy that we reached the finals and we’ll come back stronger in the next season,” he said.

A total of 21 teams competed in the league, which kicked off on January 10. The tournament brought in youth from around Thimphu.

Team Happy organised the tournament.

Tenzin Thinley and Chimi Rinzin