Tshering Namgyal | Mongar

With polling officials including security personnel and de-suups deputed in all 22 polling stations of the five gewogs, Mongar constituency is set for the bye-election scheduled today.

Following a day-long refreshers course for two groups on June 25 and 26, 96 polling officials and 46 police personnel and 46 de-suups were sent to the respective polling stations since June 26.

While police personnel were deployed to look after security issues, de-suups will ensure voters follow health safety protocols including wearing face masks, washing hands and maintaining distance.

Of the 11,076 registered voters in Mongar constituency, 2,809 people registered for postal ballots including 2,741 in the country and 68 overseas.

The returning officer’s (RO) office received 2,638 postal ballots from voters in the country.

However, from more than 100 postal ballots for Mongar and Nganglam constituencies issued to voters overseas, the office of the returning officer in Australia has received only 35 ballots including one sent into the country from Bangkok as of yesterday, the last day to receive postal ballot.

In the recent electronic voting machine (EVM) mobile voting, election officials said 99 percent voted.

Mongar’s RO, Mani K Ghalay, said of the 230 registered voters with disability and aged above 65 years, only three did not vote. “Two died recently and one was a cow herder who left to a far-flung jungle with cattle. He did not own mobile phone to contact at the time of election.”

With the polling stations remain open from 8am to 6pm today, all the shops in Mongar demkhong will remain closed until the election timing is over.

Dorji Youden of Chali is a candidate of Druk Phuensum Tshogpa while Karma Lhamo of Tsakaling represents Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa in this bye-election.

Edited by Tashi Dema