… two former principals will head the House of Review

Dechen Dolkar 

The first sitting of the fourth National Council (NC) yesterday elected the Member of Parliament from Chukha,  Sangay Dorji, as its Chairperson and Dago Tsheringla from Haa as Deputy Chairperson.

Sangay Dorji, 42, secured 13 of the 25 votes to ensure a decisive win among the four contestants.

 Sangay Dorji has a Master’s in educational management and administration. He served for thirteen years as a principal.

Among the candidates who contested for the Chairperson’s seat, Ugyen Tshering from Paro secured eight votes, Tshering Wangchen from Mongar secured three votes and Sonam Tobgyel from Trashigang secured one vote.

Thanking the members for the support, the Chairperson-elect said that in fact it was a dutiful election, there is no extra pleasure than electing from dzongkhag.

He added that it is an extra responsibility to lead the House which has already kept a strong legacy by former precedence.

“My way forward would be to coordinate and fulfil the vision of the institution as per the mandate of the Act,” Sangay Dorji said.

“Management cannot be a one-man show which should be a collective effort and with wise members, I am confident to lead the institution,” said the Chairperson-elect.

Dago Tsheringla, 45, was elected as the Deputy Chairperson with nine votes. The remaining votes were divided amongst Kelzang Lhundup from Lhuentse securing (two votes), Namgay Dorji from Punakha and Sonam Tenzin from Trashiyantse (seven votes each).

Dago Tsheringla has a Master’s degree in Educational Leadership and Management from India. He served as a principal for 18 years in the education sector.

The roles of the Chairperson are to preside over the NC sessions and enforce its rules of procedure for the orderly conduct of the proceedings, preserve dignity and decorum in the hall, maintain discipline amongst the members, sign  Bills passed by the NC, represent the NC in its relation with the Druk Gyalpo, the Executive and the Judiciary; and establish inter-parliamentary relations.

Whenever the Chairperson suffers from an illness or other cause and finds it necessary to leave the chair during any part of the sitting of the NC, the Deputy Chairperson will preside over such sittings until the Chairperson resumes the chair.

The Deputy Chairperson presiding over the sitting during the period of the Chairperson’s absence will enjoy the same powers and privileges as the Chairperson.

He will also perform the duties of the Chairperson and every such act performed by him shall have the same effect and validity as that of the Chairperson.

Supreme Court Chief Justice Chogyal Dago Rigdzin accompanied by the former Venerable Tshogki Lopen from the Central Monastic Body administered the Oath of Office to the members yesterday.

The members also signed a Pledge of Non-Affiliation to Political Parties.