As the nation went poll for the primary round yesterday, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) and Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) were the winners in Paro.

DNT secured the highest number of provisional votes – 2,528 from Dokar-Sharpa constituency. DPT secured 2,387 provisional votes from Lamgong-Wangchang constituency. These data includes both Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) and postal votes.

Paro saw more than 11,000 voters cast their vote yesterday.

Because of technical reasons, voting was delayed by about 40 minutes at Shaba Lower Secondary School polling station.

A voter at the Lamgong Lower Secondary School polling station, Tshering Gyem, 43, from Jagar Thangmaed, said that she had come all the way from Chapcha to cast her vote.

The 43-year-old said that voting was important democratic exercise.

More than a hundred voters were issued Voter Photo Identity Cards (VPIC) at the Lamgong-Wangchang constituency.

Another voter at the Paro College of Education polling station, Tshecho, said that although she couldn’t clearly identify party logos, she came to vote. “I feel that everyone competing must be capable and are capable as their participation is a confirmation.”

She said that voting should be must for all people as it is one of the greatest joy to participate in nation building.

Of the 1335 postal ballots accepted, about 1532 was counted. Three postal votes were declared invalid at the constituency. In the Dokar-Shaba constituency, about 24 postal ballots were rejected and 1,245 ballots accepted.

In Paro, DNT secured the highest postal votes – 976, followed by PDP with 614 votes, and DPT with 533. BKP secured the lowest number of postal votes, 273.

Rinchen Zangmo | Paro