DNT won in both the constituencies in Paro according to the provisional results of the general election yesterday.

In Lamgong-Wangchang constituency, DNT’s Ugyen Tshering secured 3,566 EVM votes with 752 postal ballots. Druk Phuensum Tshogpa’s Phub Tshering secured 3,496 votes, which included 661 postal ballots and 2,835 EVM votes.

It was a close call with a difference of only about 70 votes.

Ugyen Tshering got 91 more postal ballots votes than Phub Tshering.

The trend was the same in Dogar-Sharpa constituency.

With DNT’s Namgay Tshering securing a total of about 4,155 votes, he won the constituency. There was a difference of about 2,043 votes. DPT’s Chencho Dorji secured about 2112 votes.

In both the postal ballots and EVM votes, DNT candidate got more votes. The number was about the double the votes secured by the DPT candidate. 

Rinchen Zangmo | Paro