The result was expected in Haa. There were no surprises.

With the president of People’s Democratic Party, Tshering Tobgay contesting from Haa, no party was expected to spoil the party. PDP won a landslide victory in Haa.

Of about 3,645 registered voters in the Sangbaykha constituency, only about 1,629 people voted on September 15. More than half of the votes went to PDP. The difference in total votes between the highest votes (PDP) and the second highest vote (DPT) was more than 1,350 votes. With the lowest votes that the Bhutan Kuen-Nyam Party (BKP) secured, there was a difference of about 1,587 votes.

There was only a difference of three votes between DPT and DNT.

PDP won both the postal votes and Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) votes. PDP secured 558 postal votes and 1,132 votes through EVM.

PDP won  the Bji-Katsho-Eusu constituency, but the difference was not as much as in the president’s constituency. Of the 4,173 registered voters in the constituency, about 2,960 participated in the election. PDP won 1,185 votes.

PDP was followed by DNT securing a total of 964 votes. The difference of votes was about 221. However, the difference was more between the second highest votes secured by DNT and the votes that the BKP secured. DPT secured the least votes of about 370 votes.

At Bji-Katsho-Eusu too, PDP lead in both the postal votes and EVM securing a total of about 826 votes through EVM and 359 postal votes.

Rinchen Zangmo | Haa