The people of Trongsa went for change to vote in Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa  (DNT) by giving 3,656 votes, according to the provisional results.

DNT won in the postal votes. Of the total, DNT won 2,185 electronic voting machine (EVM) votes and 1,471 postal votes.

Druk Phuensum Tsogpa secured 2,250 votes on the EVM and 1,193 postal votes.

Nubi-Tangsibji constituency’s DNT candidate Yeshey Penjor secured 1,677 votes of which 982 were on EVM. Druk Phuensum Tshogpa’s (DPT) candidate Nidup Zangpo secured 1,537, which 611 are postal ballots.

In Draagteng-Langthel constituency, DNT’s Gyem Dorji secured 1,979 votes including 1,203 on EVM, while DPT candidate Ugyen Namgyel secured 1,906 including 1,324 EVM votes.

Gyem Dorji secured 776 postal votes, 194 more than Ugyen Namgyel.

Trongsa received a total of 2,675 postal ballots of which 11 were rejected, according to election officials.

Draagteng-Langthel constituency received 1,358 postal ballots, of which six were rejected while Nubi- Tangsibji constituency, which received 1,306 postal ballots rejected five.

Trongsa, which has 10,250 registered voters, saw a voter turn out of 69.4 percent yesterday.

According to officials, the poll day went smoothly and no issues were reported in any of the polling stations. Trongsa saw some voters, who had come to cast their votes without their voter cards or with their old voter cards.

Ugyen Dorji | Trongsa