Samdrupjongkhar re-elected their incumbent member Jigme Wangchuk yesterday, making him the only National Council candidate to serve for a third consecutive term.

It was a landslide win for Jigme Wangchuk from Lauri gewog who won 4,101 votes against other contestants. Among the five other contestants, Kelzang Phuntsho came second with 2,989 votes, and the lone female candidate Tshelthrim Drukar, came third by securing 2,674 votes. 

Ugyen Dorji secured 1,635 votes while Tshewang Tenzin and Sangay Tenzin secured 1,105 and 1,085 votes each.

Jigme Wangchuk secured the highest number of postal ballot votes, 2,797 and 1,304 EVM votes among the candidates. The results are provisional. 

Voter turnout in the 56 polling stations was 9,045, which is about 36 percent of the total 25,424 registered voters.

The office of the returning officer received 4,795 postal ballots cast through conventional and facilitation booth facility, of which 251 were rejected. 

Jigme Wangchuk in a telephone interview said he was immensely happy to be reelected for the third term.  

 “It’s a matter of great pride for somebody like me who’s born in the remote village to a humble family to be part of this historic victory,” he said. “I thank the people for their continued trust and faith in me.” 

Tshering Namgyal | Samdrupjongkhar