Samtse, just like other southern dzongkhags voted for Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT). 

The party often called as the “phool party” in the dzongkhag swept all four constituencies with ease, according to provisional results. 

In Tashichhoeling demkhong, DNT candidate Dil Maya Rai secured 6,032 votes, 4,495 EVM votes and 1,537 postal ballots.

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa’s (DPT) Durga Prasad Chhetri wrestled 604 postal ballots and 2,845 EVM votes. Tashichhoeling constituency has 12,966 registered voters and 9,481 people turned up yesterday.

Dil Maya Rai also had won in the constituency during the primary round on September 15. 

At Ugyentse-Yoeseltse constituency, the race was between two Pardhans, DNT’s Dinesh Kumar Pradhan and DPT’s Lila Pradhan. DNT won with 5,353 votes against Lila Pradhan’s 2,054.

Dinesh Kumar Pradhan garnered 4,010 EVM votes and 1,343 postal votes while Lila Pradhan secured 1,511 EVM votes and just 543 postal ballots. Ugyentse-Yoeseltse constituency has 10,357 registered voters this election of which 7,407 people cast their votes through EVM and postal ballots.

In Phuentshogpelri-Samtse constituency, DNT’s Ganesh Ghimiray garnered 5,332 votes with 4,187 EVM votes and 1,145 postal ballots. Kamal Dhan Chamling of DPT secured 2,557 votes, 2,037 on the EVM and 520 through postal ballots. 

During the primary round, People’s Democratic Party (PDP) had won Phuentshogpelri-Samtse constituency. There are 10,806 registered voters here. 

Dophuchen-Tading was the only constituency where observers had expected a win for DPT. Its candidate Thakur Singh Powdyel had won in the primary round and the party expected to secure a seat from this constituency. However, Thakur Singh Powdyel managed to secure 4,532 votes against DNT candidate Loknath Sharma’s 5,069 votes.

In the primary round, DPT had received the highest votes and DNT was in the second place. The two parties had a difference of just 226 votes with DPT leading.

Unlike other constituencies, Dophuchen-Tading also declared the results quite late as voters were still queued up to vote after 5pm. 

DNT won by 91 votes in the EVM with 3,767 votes against DPT’s 3,676 votes. In the postal ballot count, DNT secured 1,302 votes, while DPT managed 856 votes. Thakur Singh Powdyel had also lost in the postal ballot results during the primary election.

In numbers, Dophuchen-Tading has the highest number of registered voters with 13,231 voters and 9,601 voted. 

Voters across Samtse, meanwhile, were jubilant about Dassain falling right after the election. Win or lose, people are celebrating Dassain today.

Rajesh Rai | Sipsu