Samtse could have had turned the table as it is believed to be PDP stronghold. DNT and DPT struck a surprise blow to the party.

Of the four constituencies, DNT won two – Tashichhoeling and Ugyentse-Yoeseltse. PDP and DPT clenched on one each.

In Tashichhoeling, DNT secured 3,177 votes. Known popularly as the phool (flower )party in Samtse, DNT secured 2,375 votes.

Dophuchen-Tading constituency voted for DPT’s Thakur Singh Powdyel. The constituency, which was popular with DNT and PDP, gave DPT a surprise victory. DPT secured 2,679 votes against DNT’s 2,453, PDP’s 1,648, and BKP’s 958 votes.

DNT had won in Dophuchen-Tading by postal ballots – 792. However, EVM votes turned the table in favour of DPT.

Phuentshopelri-Samtse was the only constituency in Samtse that PDP was able to hold. PDP has DN Dhungyel ffrom the constituency.

Although DNT was leading in terms of postal ballots, PDP received more EVM votes.

BKP secured the third spot with 1,054 vote. DPT just got 963, the lowest among the four parties.

In terms of the voter turnout, Samtse saw a total of 28,568 voters – 60.3 percent.

Although Dophuchen-Tading had the highest number of registered voters, more turned up at Tashichhoeling constituency. A total of 8,087 voters voted at Tashichhoeling.

Second highest turnout was in Dophuchen-Tading with 7,738 voters.

Rajesh Rai | Samtse