Sarpang Strikers overwhelmed Dechencholing Nazhoen at the Women’s T20 club championship final at the Pelkhil oval yesterday.

Dechencholing Nazhoen won the toss and decided to bat first. The decision did not matter much to Sarpang Strikers with bowling machine Anju Gurung.

Captain Anju Gurung of Sarpang Strikers said that the light rain in the beginning of match made them feel confident. Dechencholing Nazhoen made 73 runs.

Anju Gurung who plays for the national team has won four best bowler titles under her belt. Yesterday, she earned the best bowler title.

Sarpang Strikers thrashed Dechencholing Nazhoen by nine wickets.

The champions lifted the title without losing a single game in the tournament.

Sarpang Strikers coach Kumar Subba said that he had been motivating the players to perform and show their skills in the game as they were less confident and hesitant in the beginning.

“Every player performed their best today. They played like they wanted to become champions,” he said.

So far, Sarpang Strikers has collected two champion titles. They won the district level cricket championship in December 2016.

Sarpang Strikers were awarded a cash prize of Nu 100, 000 along with the champions’ trophy. Dechencholing Nazhoen took home Nu 50,000 along with a trophy.

Sonam Peldon of Sarpang Strikers, the best batswoman of the championship, was given a cash prize of Nu 3,000. Ajnu Gurung, the best bowler, walked home with cash prize of Nu 3,000.

Dechen Wangmo of Dechencholing Nazhoen was declared the player of the tournament and took home a cash prize of Nu 10,000.

The total of six teams from Wangdue, Punakha, Paro, Thimphu, and Sarpang took part in the championship.

The first ever women’s T20 club championship was organised by Bhutan Cricket Council Board with support from India-Bhutan Foundation, UNICEF Bhutan, International Cricket Council, and Pelkhil School.