With candidates from 10 gewogs contesting from Dagana, the four gewogs without a candidate were expected to decide who would represent the Dagaps (people of Dagana).

When the results were declared, it was confirmed that the swing gewogs, Tsangkha, Tashiding and Gozhi played a huge role in electing Surjaman Thapa. All the 10 candidates had won from the gewogs they were representing. However, Surjaman Thapa won the majority votes from Tsangkha, Tashiding and Gozhi gewog while Suraj Pradhan won from Nichula gewog who had no candidate.

Surjaman Thapa secured 153 votes from a total of 761 votes in Tsangkha gewog and 348 from the total of 969 from Tashiding gewog and 309 votes from Gozhi gewog from the total of 1,068 votes.

Nichula gewog saw a total of 304 votes cast on the poll day and Suraj Pradhan from Lhamoizingkha gewog secured 78, the highest.

Wangdi, representing from Dorona, secured the lowest votes, which is 801 including 140 postal ballots.

Birendra Chimoria of Tsendagang secured the majority votes from Electronic Voting Machine (EVM), 1,833, while the NC elect Surjaman Thapa secured 1,794 votes. Birendra Chimoria was leading with 39 votes from the EVM count but the difference of 281 votes from the postal ballot in favour of Surjaman Thapa became the deciding factor.

Dagana has 24,200 eligible voters. On the poll day 5,438 men and 5,171 women came to vote, which is 45.3 and 43.2 percent respectively.

About 2,600 men registered for the postal ballot, out of which 1,910 participated. Out of the 1,945 female registered for the postal ballot, 1,434 used the facility.

Yeshey Dema | Dagana