LG: In Thimphu, four gewogs have elected new gups.

The former gup of Lingzhi, Wangdi, is the gup-elect with 95 votes. Securing 48 votes, Kencho Dorjee, is the gup-elect of Soe gewog. Gups-elect Karma Gyeltshen in Ge-nyen and Gado in Darkarla secured 249 and 184 votes respectively.

Kanjur is the gup-elect of Chang gewog. He defeated former gup Ugyen by 80 votes.

In Kawang, Thupten Wangchuk is the gup-elect.

South Thimphu’s Meadwang gewog had the highest number of registered voters at 2,589. However, only 1,550 voters showed up at the polling stations on September 27.

Chencho Tenzin, Maedwang’s gup-elect, got 870 votes.

The two women gup candidate from South Thimphu, Choki and Karma Zangmo secured 262 and 186 votes respectively.

None of the three women candidates who contested for the post of gup got elected.

In Naro, Wangchuk, who secured 77 votes, is the gup-elect.

Perpon, 61, the oldest mangmi candidate in Thimphu, secured 457 votes and is Kawang’s mangmi-elect.

Tenzin Zangpo is the new Lingzhi mangmi.

In Soe, Tshering Dorjee is the mangmi-elect. He won with 63 votes. Kinga Thinley, who won 79 votes, is the mangmi-elect of Naro. Khandu won in Ge-nyen, Rinzin in Maedwang and Tandin Dorji in Darkarla.

Sonam Zangmo is the only woman mangmi-elect. She represents Chang.

Dechen Tshomo