Rajesh Rai |  Phuentsholing

Devi Charan Dhimal was nominated from the Phuentsholing Toed constituency at the dhamngoi zomdu held yesterday, securing a place to vie for the thrompon’s post.

The 56-year old former Phuentsholing thromde engineer secured 55 votes against the other thrompon aspirant Deepen Ghallay’s 34.

With 201 eligible voters, Phuentsholing Toed has the highest number of voters in the thromde.  A total of 101 voters, which comes to more than 50 percent, turned up to cast their votes yesterday.

With this, three thrompon candidates, one each from Phuentsholing Toed, Phuentsholing Maed, and Neydra, are now out.  The last dhamngoi zomdu will be held for Rinchending demkhong today.

A lone candidate, Karma Gelay, 53, will go for “yes” or “no” votes.  The constituency has 106 eligible voters.

Pasakha and Pekharzhing constituencies don’t have anyone standing for nomination.  These constituencies have 138 and 194 eligible voters respectively and remain strategic vote banks during this thrompon election.

From Phuentsholing Maed demkhong, former thromde tshogpa, 40-year old Chhungku Dawa was nominated at the dhamngoi zomdu securing 42 votes against 31-year old Tandin Wangchuk’s 18.

The former Phuentsholing thrompon Uttar Kumar Rai, 39, has also scraped through the first round with a razor-thin one vote advantage.  He received 33 votes against Tashi Wangchuk’s 32.

The last date to file the contestant’s nominations is scheduled for March 29.  The campaign will start on April 2.

Phuentsholing thromde has 922 eligible voters.