Tashi Phuntsho

Four of the 11 gewogs in Chukha fielded a National Council (NC) candidate each to contest in the upcoming NC elections.

The remaining gewogs did not nominate candidates during the dhamngoi zomdu recently.  

From Bongo gewog, the incumbent National Council member Sangay Dorji was nominated to contest in the NC election. Before he contested NC, he was working as principal in schools in Bhutan. 

The 42-year-old Sangay Dorji, the lone aspirant during the gewog zomdu from Gedu Miritsemo secured 535 Yes votes and 36 No votes. 

Likewise, Logchina and Geling gewogs also had lone contestants during the zomdu.  

Loggchina gewog nominated Damcho Gyeltshen, 36, with 244 Yes votes and 29 No votes for the second time. The gewog nominated him as their candidate for the NC elections in 2018.  

Damcho Gyeltshen worked was the Chief Executive Officer of Norbu International Wellness Institute and Norbu Healing and Arts Centre, a joint venture company. He has a master degree from Stamford international university, Thailand. 

The lone candidate from Phuentsholing gewog, Hem Prasad Rai, 36, confirmed his candidature with 210 Yes votes at the dhamngoi zomdu against 63 No votes. 

Hem Prasad Rai has a master’s degree from Nalanda University, Bihar in India. He worked as a hardware technician for CBR Enterprise. 

Phuentsoling Thromde nominated Tandin Wangchuk, 32, with 74 Yes votes and 13 No votes. He has a bachelor’s degree from Calcutta University in India. He resigned as manager of Peldrup Builders to contest in the elections. 

Bongo gewog saw the most number of people at the dhamngoi zomdu compared to other gewogs in Chukha. 

The gewog had 571 voters cast their vote to nominate Sangay Dorji. Bongo has more than 4,000 eligible voters. 

While Loggchina gewog and Phuentsholing gewog saw 273 voters each during dhamngoi zomdus, Phuentsholing thromde had only 87 voters turn up for the nomination of the lone aspiring NC candidate. 

Maedtabkha, Samphelling, Doongna, Geling, Getena, Darla, Chhapcha, and Bjagchhog gewogs did not nominate any candidates.