Three out of a total of 130 nominees from across the country are out of the race for the National Council (NC) election, which will be held on April 20.

Dorji Wangchuk, 33, from Bidung gewog in Trashigang, said the Bhutan Accreditation Council (BAC) did not endorse his certificate although it was authenticated by the university.

Mon Bdr Rai, 28, from Samtenling gewog of Sarpang, was late to write to the university for authentication of his certificate.

Ugyen Dorji, 34, from Norbugang gewog from Pemagatshel, opted out of the race voluntarily.

They had passed through the zomdu as lone candidate.

Ugyen Dorji said that he was not prepared to shoulder the responsibility of a Member of Parliament.

“I withdrew my candidature voluntarily so that I can come more prepared in the next election. For now, I’m happy looking after my business,” he said.

An M.Com graduate from North Bengal University, Ugyen Dorji was nominated with 259 ‘yes’ votes against 21 ‘no’ votes.

Dorji Wangchuk, a former teacher, said there were issues with signature on his degree certificate and the signature on the letter of authentication of his degree.

Dorji Wangchuk has a B.Com degree from India’s North Bengal University.

He received 112 ‘yes’ votes and 27 ‘no’ votes at the zomdu.

Mon Bdr Rai said the university did not authenticate his degree certificate on time.

“I wrote to the university requesting them to issue a certificate of authentication of my degree. I am yet to receive a response from the university,” he said.

He was nominated with 229 ‘yes’ votes against 31 ‘no’ votes at the gewog zomdu. After his graduation, he worked in the private sector.

After Ugyen Dorji dropped out, five gewogs have a nominee each in Pemagatshel.

They are Sonam Dendhup from Nanong, Choining Dorji from Dechenling, Sangay Wangchuk from Yurung, Sherig Dentshog from Shumar and Jamtsho from Khar.

With the three nominees out, there are now only 127 candidates for 20 seats in the upper house of Parliament.

However, spokesperson of the Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB), Phub Dorji, said the final list of candidates from 20 dzongkhags could be known only when the withdrawal of candidates closes today.

In Trashigang, seven candidates are in the race.

Ugyen Phuntsho from Bartsham, Lhatu from Lumang, Sonam Tobgay from Radhi, Jamyang from Samkhar, Chheki Wangchuk from Shongphu, Ugyen Dorji from Thrimshing, and Pema Wangda from Udzorong will vie for a seat from the dzongkhag.

In Sarpang, there are now seven candidates.

Khari Lal Gurung from Chhuzagang, Anand Rai from Gakiling, Tshering Norbu from Gelephu Thromde, Tshering Penjor from Jigme Chhoeling, Dhan Bdr Mongar from Dekiling, Pema Tashi from Serzhong, and Ugyen Dorji Tshering from Shompangkha.

MB Subba