Trongsa voted for change yesterday when it chose Druk Namrup Tshogpa  (DNT) with 2,449 votes.

Of the total, DNT won 1,470 votes on the electronic voting machine (EVM) and 979 postal votes.

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) came second with 1,964 votes. PDP secured 1,372 EVM votes and 592 postal votes.

Trongsa received a total of 2,651 postal ballots of which 12 were rejected, according to election officials.

Draagteng-Langthel constituency received 1,348 postal ballots, of which three were rejected while Nubi- Tangsibji constituency received 1,303 postal ballots, and rejected nine.

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) secured 1,911 votes including 743 postal votes and Bhutan Kuen-Nyam Party (BKP) won 778 votes including 334 postal votes.

In Draagteng-Langthel constituency, PDP secured 339 postal votes, DNT 483 and BKP 174 votes. From Nubi-Tangsibji constituency, PDP secured 253 postal votes while DPT secured 394. DNT won 496 postal votes and BKP 160.

Trongsa, which has 10,250 registered voters, saw a voter turn out of 69.75 percent yesterday.

According to officials, the poll day went smoothly and no issues were reported in any of the polling stations.

Trongsa saw some voters, who had come to cast their votes without their voter cards or with their old voter cards.

Ugyen Dorji | Trongsa