Lhakpa Quendren | Gelephu

Nima Wangdi, 42, from Damphu town in Tsirang, won the National Council seat with 5,359 votes against five competitors.

Nima Wangdi, a former teacher who served in various schools for 15 years, secured 1,621 postal ballots and 3,738 EVM votes.

Thanking the voters, Nima Wangdi said that his decision to contest was not driven by perks and privileges. “I want to bring changes to the lives of the people…I am very thankful to all my family members, voters and supporters, and well-wishers for this success.”

Sarvajit Rai from Sergithang Gewog received 3,382 votes, and Yangkhu Tshering Sherpa from Patshaling Gewog received 2,689 votes.

Ragu Nath Nepal from Mendrelgang Gewog got 157 postal ballots in his favour. Gopal Thapa from Gosarling Gewog got 649 EVM votes.

Out of the 26,122 registered voters in Tsirang, 14,383 cast their votes, 4,282 through postal ballot.