DPT and DNT took a constituency each in Paro on September 15.

Of the 18,684 registered voters in Paro, 13,652 people cast their votes. Voter turnout was 73 percent.

More than 6,500 voters participated in the election from Dokar-Sharpa constituency where Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) secured the highest votes – 2,528.  DNT won in both the postal ballots (519) and EVM votes (2009).

A public health specialist, Namgay Tshering, represented DNT in Dokar-Sharpa. The people supported the party because of its manifesto, he said. “I think it is because people want change. Secondly, they have faith and trust in the party manifesto, which is narrowing the gap. And, of course, the agenda of health care.”

The other thing is the people’s trust for DNT’s president and the candidates, he said. “It means that people expect a lot from DNT. It means that they feel DNT is the people’s party.”

In Dokar-Sharpa, People’s Democratic Party (PDP) closely followed DNT in the EVM votes. It showed a difference of only about 18 votes. However, DNT and PDP had a difference of about 121 votes in postal ballots.

In Lamgong-Wangchang, Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) won the highest number of votes. The party got 2,387 votes from the constituency, which was followed closely by DNT with 2,113 votes.

A former  gup of Lamgong, Phub Tshering, represented DPT. According to him, three things could have led him to victory. “First, former lyonpo Khandu Wangchuk, who represented the party had served well and people respect him. Because of the works that he did for the people in Paro, I feel that people support me too.”

He said that as he had participated in the local government as a gup and as the chairman of DT, he was familiar with issues and concerns of the people. He said that he does not differentiate people and that he used to raise issues of the people without fear or hesitation while serving in the local government. “In about six months, I met with the people of the six gewogs of Paro three times. I know every house in the constituency.”   

Lamgong-Wangchang is the only constituency where DPT won in the western region.

In Paro, DNT got the highest postal votes – 976, followed by PDP with 614 votes, and DPT with 533 votes. BKP secured the least with 273 votes. 

DPT got a total of about 4,776 votes from both the constituencies. DNT got about 4,641 votes. PDP got 4,470 votes.

In both the constituencies, Bhutan Kuen-Nyam Party (BKP) got the least votes. 

Rinchen Zangmo