More than 60 percent of the country’s population will cast their votes during the primary round of the National Assembly elections of the third parliament on September 15.

The election commission has registered 438,663 voters for the elections as of July 1, 2018.

Trashigang with five constituencies has 47,614, the largest number of registered voters and Gasa with 2,064 the least. Samtse, Mongar, Sarpang, and Pemagatshel have the most number of voters in the top five dzongkhags with 185,887 voters altogether.

The commission released the final electoral roll after incorporating the changes received during the claims and objections period between August 2 and 12.

Of the 438, 663 registered voters in the country, 133,795 have registered as Postal Voters for the national assembly elections.

From the postal voters, 31,267 have registered for the conventional postal ballots of which 22,624 are male and 8,643 women. More than 73 percent or 97,870 of the postal voters have registered to vote at the facilitation booths. Of the 97,870, 53,854 are female. From the 4,658 special needs postal voters, 2,536 are male.

In the nation’s first-ever primary round polls in May 2013, a total of 211,018 voters or 55.27 percent of the total registered voters in the country turned out to cast their votes. Of the total votes cast, 82 percent were cast on the electronic voting machines and 18 percent through postal ballot.

Four registered political parties contested the primary round of elections in 2013, with Druk Chirwang Tshogpa securing 5.9 percent, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa had 17 percent, Druk Phuensum Tshogpa 44.52 percent, and People’s Democratic Party 32.53 percent.

Apart from the meetings called by the parties, 323 common forums for campaign by all political parties were organised in the country with one in each of the 47 demkhongs broadcast on television.

For the National Council earlier this year, there were 432,030 registered voters, of which 220,881 were male. The election saw 54.3 percent of Bhutanese turning up to cast their votes to elect the 20 representatives. Of the 432,030 eligible voters, 169,623 voters cast their votes at the 866 polling stations across the country.

An individual voter can check the individual registration status and information on polling station at for electoral roll and for postal ballot.

The final electoral roll can be inspected at the respective dzongkhag election offices or the offices of the returning officer or at Democracy House, the ECB headquarters.


Tshering Palden 


Skip to toolbar