Staff Reporter

Ambassador Sonam Tobgay co-hosted a reception with David Smith MP, Co-Chair of Bhutan Parliamentary Friendship Group and Senator Dean Smith, Deputy Chair, for Parliamentarians and friends of Bhutan to celebrate the establishment of the Bhutan Parliamentary Friendship Group at the Australian Parliament House in Canberra on November 13.

The formation of the Australia-Bhutan Parliamentary Friendship Group marks a historic milestone, representing the first-ever collaboration of its kind, a press release from the foreign ministry stated.

“This is an auspicious beginning for a new area of cooperation between Bhutan, a young democracy of 15 years old, and Australia, globally recognised as an exemplar of democratic values,” the press release stated.