Tashi Phuntsho

The Bhutan Tendrel Party (BTP) achieved landslide victories across the board in Pemagatshel.

In Nganglam constituency, BTP’s Lamdra Wangdi, emerged victorious with a total of 3,640 votes, surpassing People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Rinchen Khandu, who secured 1,590 votes.

Lamdra Wangdi garnered more than half the votes in both Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) and Postal Ballots (PB) compared to Rinchen Khandu. The voter turnout in Nganglam constituency stood at an impressive 66.58 percent.

In Khar-Yurung constituency, BTP’s Sangay Thinley, secured a landslide victory over PDP’s Lekden Zangmo. Sangay Thinley won with a total of 4,448 votes, while Lekden Zangmo received 2,039 votes. Sangay Thinley received a notable 623 more EVM votes than his opponent. The constituency, with 20 polling stations, had a voter turnout of 60.73 percent.

In Nanong-Shumar constituency, BTP’s Yeshi Jamtsho, clinched victory in both EVM and PB votes, securing 4,255 votes against PDP’s Pema Wangchuk, who received 2,212 votes.

Yeshi Jamtsho’s triumph in the general round marked a significant lead over his opponent, building on the momentum from the primary round where PDP had initially penetrated DPT’s stronghold.