Thinley Namgay

In a significant reversal of the primary election results, the Bhutan Tendrel Party (BTP) secured victories in both constituencies of Lhuentse during the general election, overcoming the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

In the Maenbi-Tsaenkhar constituency, BTP’s Tempa Dorji emerged victorious with 3,087 votes, comprising 1,568 Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) votes and 1,519 postal ballots (PBs). PDP’s Yeshey Dorji managed 2,853 votes, consisting of 1,541 EVM votes and 1,312 PBs.

In the Gangzur-Minjey constituency, BTP’s Loday Tsheten secured victory with 3,166 votes, including 1,663 EVM votes and 1,503 PBs. PDP’s Chimi Dorji received 2,384 votes, with 1,255 EVM votes and 1,230 PBs.

Lhuentse, with two constituencies, has a total of 18,738 registered voters, including 9,872 males and 8,866 females. The voter turnout in Lhuentse was 11,490, including PB voters.

Out of around 6,000 PBs issued for Lhuentse’s two constituencies, including overseas PBs and early voting for Persons with Disabilities (PWDs), 5,481 PBs reached the dzongkhag election office, with 17 being rejected due to wrong addresses and incomplete information.

From approximately 12,000 EVM voters in Lhuentse, 6,027 voted yesterday.

In Lhuentse, 271 PWDs registered for special early voting, and 260 PWDs cast their votes.