Bhutan Kuen-Nyam Party, in a press release issued yesterday, stated that it accepted the resignation of Dasho Neten Zangmo both from the party presidentship and as a candidate from Dewathang-Gomdhar constituency.

Taking moral responsibility and accountability, Dasho Neten Zangmo has stepped down as the president of Bhutan Kuen-Nyam Party (BKP) following the party’s failure to make it to the general election.

She tendered her resignation to the party on September 16, the day after the primary round.

Dasho Neten Zangmo served as a foreign and cabinet secretary, ACC chairperson. She was conferred the red scarf (Nyekem Daken) and the Druk Thuksey medal of honour.

The vice president Sonam Tobgay will be the president in-charge till the next party convention is held.