Nima Wangdi

His Majesty The King awarded Druk Thuksey Medal to Dasho Dorji Gyeltshen at the national day celebrations at Tashichhodzong yesterday.

 The Zimpon of the Fourth Druk Gyalpo served three Druk Gyalpos.

Druk Thuksey medal (Son of the heart of the Thunder Dragon) was awarded in recognition of his exceptional services to the nation as Zimpon to His Majesty the Fourth Druk Gyalpo.

Dasho Dorji Gyeltshen was born in 1942 at Deuzhi village in Paro. He is the descendant of Deuzhi Cheum, who was one of the chief patrons and principal supporters of Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel.

Dasho Dorji Gyeltshen was among the first men chosen to serve in the Royal Body Guards when it was established in 1963. He was selected to serve HRH Gyalsey Jigme Singye Wangchuck in 1964.

He received the Red Kabney (Bura Maap) from His Majesty the Third Druk Gyalpo in 1972.

He was appointed Trongsa Zimpon on the investiture of His Majesty as Trongsa Penlop and was appointed Zimpon, a week prior to the His Majesty’s Coronation in 1974. He served in that position until 2006 and he continues to serve.

Popularly known as Agay Zimpon, Dasho Dorji Gyeltshen is also feared for being a strict disciplinarian and tough taskmaster.  He is respected and remembered for his high ethics.

During his 34 years of loyal and dedicated service, he instituted numerous measures to preserve and promote national culture and tradition, including imparting training, and writing a book on Driglam Namzha.

He coordinated and supervised national events, including National Day Celebrations, inaugural ceremonies of the National Assembly, and historic events such as the Coronation of His Majesty The Fourth Druk Gyalpo. He also coordinated the Royal Wedding Ceremony in 1988, the investiture ceremony of the Trongsa Penlop, and the Coronation Silver Jubilee Celebrations in 1999.

Besides serving at the Royal courts, Dasho also participated in the construction of the country’s first motor road. He was drafted in the Royal Bhutan Army before he was picked up to serve in the RBG.

He is the recipient of the Coronation Medal in 1974, the Silver Jubilee Gold Medal in 1994, Coronation Medal and Civil Service Gold Medal in 2008.